Russia expels 10 U.S. diplomats

Russia today (13) listed 10 U.S. diplomats, including U.S. Embassy spokeswoman Rebecca Ross, as “persona non grata” and asked them to leave the country by a deadline. Moscow said this was in response to the Biden administration’s expulsion of Russian diplomats in the United States in April.

Russia Today (RT) reported that the Russian Foreign Ministry said in a statement that “this mirror response is due to the hostile behavior of the U.S. side toward the Russian diplomatic staff at the Russian Embassy in Washington, as well as at the Consulate General in New York, and their classification as personae non gratae is not justified.”

On April 15, the U.S. announced the expulsion of 10 Russian diplomats from the country. The White House said it was because Russia interfered in the 2020 U.S. presidential election, and it also alleged that the Russians were behind the hack of government software provider SolarWinds, but the Kremlin denied both.