Summary list of countries and regions that have issued no-entry orders against India

India has seen a rapid increase in cases of the Chinese Communist virus (COVID-19) and an increase in the number of deaths. This has led to many countries announcing bans on entry of visitors from India.

Below is a list of countries/regions that have issued orders banning travel to and from India as of April 27


Canada, by far, is the country that has faced the longest travel ban imposed on India. Canada has banned all passenger flights from India for 30 days due to a surge in cases of the Chinese Communist virus (COVID-19). The flight ban went into effect at midnight on April 22.


Effective 11:59 p.m. on April 24, the UAE banned travelers from India. The ban on entry is for 10 days and will be reviewed thereafter as appropriate. Travelers from other countries who have visited India within the last 14 days will also not be allowed to enter the country.

United Kingdom

The United Kingdom recently added India to its travel red list, and the country banned all residents except those from the United Kingdom or Ireland from entering the country. The travel ban on India began on April 23 at 4 a.m. local time.


France will impose new restrictions on travelers entering the country from India. The French government has imposed a mandatory 10-day quarantine on travelers from India.


From 0000 hours on April 26, Germany will impose an entry ban on India. Only German citizens or foreigners with residency in Germany will be allowed to fly from India to Germany. However, they must show proof of a negative virus test prior to entry and be quarantined upon arrival.


The Minister of Health has issued a decree banning the entry of foreigners who have been to India in the last 14 days. Italian residents returning from India can enter the country normally, but they need to make a virus test before departure and after arrival and get a negative result, otherwise they will be forced to be quarantined.


Singapore has announced that passengers from India will be required to undergo 21 days of “home self-quarantine” at a designated facility due to the emergence of a new strain of the virus in India.


Australia has decided to restrict shipping to and from India by reducing flights to and from India by one-third.

Hong Kong

The Hong Kong government has initiated an “emergency meltdown” to ban passengers departing from India as of April 20.


Israel has issued a travel advisory asking its citizens not to travel to India, Ukraine, Ethiopia, Brazil, South Africa, Mexico and Turkey.


Oman has announced a complete ban on travelers from India, including those who have entered India in the last two weeks, effective April 24.


From April 19, Pakistan temporarily closed its gates with India for two weeks.


Bangladesh also closed its border with India for the next two weeks.


Thailand, one of the most frequented destinations by Indians, has also banned travelers from India. The Thai Embassy in India has suspended visas for non-Thai nationals traveling from India.


The Iranian Ministry of Health has decided to suspend all flights to and from India.


Kuwait has suspended all direct commercial flights from India with effect from 24, the Kuwait General Civil Aviation Authority said.